One Bowl Cupcakes

I don’t know about you, but I love dessert. Every now and then, I just need something sweet, but I don’t keep a lot of sugary stuff around our house. I’ll buy gummies or Twizzlers Nibs every now and then, but they’re always quickly snarfed by my hubby. Sour Patch Kids are his favorite, but any gummy-like candy will disappear around him – we grabbed two large bags of candy at Target a couple weeks ago and he ate them in 2 days. I checked the packages, it was 5 lbs. of gummy bears and Sour Patch Kids. 5 lbs. It’s a good thing he thinks working out is fun.

Usually there’s a small container of ice cream or fro-yo in the freezer, and a bar or two of chocolate in our fridge, but that’s about it. My favorite chocolate bars are from Chocolove. Their dark chocolate with cherries and almonds is amazing. Surprisingly the hazelnut bar is my second favorite, but that one only comes in milk chocolate. I get them at Whole Foods – delish.

The hazelnut flavor - I have a cherry-almond bar in the fridge right now too, but there are only about 2 squares left :-)

The hazelnut flavor – I have a cherry-almond bar in the fridge right now too, but there are only about 2 squares left :-)

I was having a major dessert craving the other night, but was stumped on what to make. The hubby is still out of town, so I had no one to share with, and I didn’t want to make a big enough batch of goodies to bring into work. So I did what any self-respecting blogger would do – a Google search for 2-serving cupcakes. I found several choices, but they all seemed to use this recipe as their starting point.

I put my own twist on the recipe by substituting hazelnut flavoring for the vanilla (of course) and because the hazelnut syrup is a different consistency than vanilla, I added an extra tablespoon of flour to balance it out, and I made a Nutella frosting for the top. Yum! With the additional flour, I actually got three cupcakes from this recipe, but it still only took a single bowl, and let’s face it, I can easily eat three cupcakes.

I have some leftover peppermint flavoring from the holidays, and I think it would be super yummy to make a chocolate-peppermint version of this recipe too, but I’ll have to test it out before I can share that with y’all.

One Bowl Cupcakes (adapted from How Sweet It Is)

makes 3 small cupcakes

1 egg white

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons butter, melted

1 teaspoon hazelnut flavoring (or vanilla)

1/4 cup flour plus 1 Tbsp.

1/4 heaping teaspoon of baking powder

pinch of salt

1 1/2 tablespoons milk

In a bowl, add egg white and sugar and whisk until combined. Add in hazelnut flavoring and melted butter and stir until mixed. Add flour, baking powder and salt and stir until smooth. Stir in milk.

My bowl of batter, hazelnut flavoring, and the only two utensils I used for this recipe - a whisk and measuring spoons.

My bowl of batter, hazelnut flavoring, and the only two utensils I used for this recipe – a whisk and measuring spoons.

Pour batter into 3 cupcake liners and bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes, or until cake is set.

Perfect, fluffy cupcakes.

Perfect, fluffy cupcakes.

I whipped up a quick frosting with 2 Tbsp. Nutella, 2 tsp. powdered sugar, a few drops of hazelnut flavoring, and a splash of milk. It wasn’t the most beautiful, spreadable frosting, but it was super tasty. And ┬ásprinkles. A cupcake is not complete without sprinkles.

The final product. Yum!

The final product. Yum!

Leave a Reply

