Jalapeno-Cheddar Cornbread Muffins

So, at work we have a chili cook-off every year during the week of the SuperBowl. This year was my first year to get in on it, but I take the Metro to work, and I certainly didn’t want to try to navigate the DC Metro with a crockpot full of chili. That just sounds like an invitation to disaster. Fortunately for me, the chili cook-off also includes a cornbread cook-off. I knew I had to enter, because I bring baked goods into the office all the time (Hi, I’m Sally, and I’m a stress baker; When things are getting to me, I like to clean my house and then pretend that I’m Betty Crocker, so while I was finishing law school and prepping for the bar there were a lot of baked goods being made, and I certainly couldn’t eat them all myself.)

I like my chili spicy, so why not give the cornbread a little kick too, right?Β I won the cook-off (out of two entries, so not exactly fierce competition like the Holiday Bake-Off is at our office) and my co-workers just laughed when they heard how simple the recipe was.Β The jalapenos didn’t make the cornbread all that spicy, it just gave them a little extra flavor. If you’re really looking for kick, use fresh jalapenos and leave some of the seeds in.

I didn’t take any photos when I made them (sorry – bad new blogger!) but next time I make a batch I’ll come back and update this. It’s been rainy and windy in DC, Β so I have a feeling another batch of chili and cornbread is not too far off.

Jalapeno-Cheddar Cornbread Muffins Honey Butter

2 boxes Jiffy cornbread mix, prepared according to package directions

1/4 cup jarred jalapenos

1 can corn

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I only had about 3/4 cup cheddar, so I threw in some monterey-jack too, it was delish)

Mix all ingredients together and spoon batter into a muffin pan lined with cupcake liners. Bake at 375* for 15 minutes or until tops of cornbread muffins are golden brown. Makes about 16 muffins.

You can also go the extra mile and make some sweet honey butter to slather on the cornbread muffins. Yum.

Honey Butter

6 Tbsp. butter (I used I Can’t Believe Its Not Butter – I use real unsalted butter in sticks to bake or cook, but the ICBINB is my favorite for spreading on things like cornbread, banana bread, or toast.)

2 Tbsp Clover Honey

Let butter soften until room temperature, then mix in honey. Refrigerate until use.

Leave a Reply

