Book Reviews! My Favorite Authors

I like to read. A lot. The hubby and I have recently acquired a flatscreen television, but we don’t have cable, and we’re not planning on getting it. In fact, I didn’t even have a TV for my first three years in DC. There are probably some people gasping right about now, but I’ve always enjoyed reading more than watching TV or movies. The only time I really like to have a TV show on is when I’m cooking; it’s a lot easier to watch a TV while cooking than it is to read – trust me. We only use the TV to play video games, pop in the occasional movie, or hook my laptop up to run Netflix so I can watch shows on a bigger screen while I cook.

When I started thinking of how to really kick this blog off with more content, books were an obvious choice, and WordPress already has an awesome widget from Goodreads so I can share my booklists with all you lovely readers πŸ™‚ (I’m really hoping I have at least 2 readers so I can refer to y’all in the plural… if not, then let’s just pretend for now, k?)

The best way to kick off any book review series is by sharing all my favorites. Since I read so many books, I tend to prefer authors that have written multiple books (at least 3-4) so that I can get some mileage out of their works before I have to hunt for a new author to read. My absolute favorite authors write books full of little details and imaginative characters, so I can re-read the books whenever the mood strikes me, without having to go to the library or spend more money at the bookstore.

Image

Most of my books are paperbacks (because I’m cheap!) but how gorgeous is this copy of Pride and Prejudice from Anthroplogie?!

Without further ado, here are my all-time favorites. You’ll notice that most of them are not “serious literature” – I went through 4 years of Philosophy and 3 years of law school, so please trust me when I say that I’ve got the serious reading covered too!

Tamora Pierce – Probably my favorite author of all time, I started reading her books in middle school and I’m still reading them over and over again today. She tends to write quartets, and she has two different fictional “universes” that she writes about, Tortall and Emelan. She has amazing heroines, but doesn’t give the male characters in her books short shrift, and both of the universes are very detailed. I have to say though, I wasn’t a fan of some of the plot choices she made in the final Beka Cooper book. If you’re interested, I have a review of it on Goodreads.

  • Alanna Quartet (Tortall)
  • Wildmage QuartetΒ (Tortall)
  • Protector of the QuartetΒ (Tortall)
  • Trickster Series (2 books)Β (Tortall)
  • Beka Cooper Series (3 books)Β (Tortall)
  • Magic Circle Quartet (Emelan)
  • Circle Opens Quartet (Emelan)
  • Will of the Empress (Emelan)
  • Melting Stones (Emelan)

J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter. Enough said. I can probably quote a ridiculous amount of the dialogue from these books, and they’re my go-to books to re-read whenever I’m out of new material. Having them all in digital format on my Nook has made that even easier, because I don’t have to cart my lovely hardbacks around with me πŸ™‚

Lilian Jackson Braun – Author of “The Cat Who…” series. These are great cozy mystery stories. The main character is a journalist, and is always “researching” one topic or another, so the books are filled with fun tidbits about random topics. There are 29(ish) books, and I own every one of them in paperback.

Garth Nix – Sabriel, Lirael, and Abhorsen. A trio of books about a fictional realm of magic and necromancy. Again, fabulous heroines, with good male characters as well, particularly in Lirael, which is split between narration from Lirael (the heroine) and Sameth (the Prince and hero). Nix has written a few other books, but the only other one I really got into was the Ragwitch.

Holly Black – Tithe series (Tithe, Ironside, and Valiant) Books about Faeries, with a bit of a dark twist. Love it. Black is also one of the authors of the Spiderwick Chronicles, although I’ve never read them.

Jane Austen – I recently read Austen’s entire works during my last year of law school. I started Pride and Prejudice and Northanger Abbey a few times in high school ad college and just ever got very far, but for some reason when I picked them up more recently everything just clicked, and now they’re some of my favorite novels when I’m in the mood for a romance.

9 thoughts on “Book Reviews! My Favorite Authors

  1. Pingback: Book Review! The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova | Barks and Baking

  2. Pingback: Book Review! The Rook | Barks and Baking

  3. Pingback: Books and Baking | Barks and Baking

  4. Pingback: Checking In | Barks and Baking

  5. Pingback: Books – My New Favorites | Barks and Baking

  6. Pingback: Coming Soon – Things I Can’t Wait For! | Barks and Baking

  7. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back
    at some point. I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have a nice holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

