Fall Things

I don’t know if I would say that Fall is my favorite season (I’m a big fan of the Spring into Summer transition when everything is turning green, the weather is warm-but-not-hot, and I get to wear dresses and shorts after a long winter of pants) but it’s certainly a close second. I love bonfires, apples and apple cider, crunchy leaves, cooler temps for running outdoors and playing with the horrible hound, and cozy sweaters with boots. There’s definitely a nip in the air here, so I thought I’d share some of my favorite fall goodies.

Nutmeg & Spice 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Slatkin & Co. - Bath & Body Works

Nutmeg & Spice 3-Wick Candle by Bath and Body Works – I picked one of these candles up last fall, and it’s probably the greatest fall scent I’ve ever found. This year I’ll go pick up another one, and while I’m there I’ll probably try out a few other delicious sounding fall picks like Blueberry Pumpkin Patch, Blackberry Spice and Pumpkin Pecan Waffles.

Pumpkin-Chocolate Chip Muffins – These are my go-to fall treat. They’re amazing, but the recipe makes like 3 dozen muffins, so beware! (and yes, that is the appropriate amount of oil listed in the recipe, I know it sounds like a lot, but the muffins turn out amazingly dense and moist – next time around I may try subbing some applesauce for the oil and see how that goes.)

Pot Roast – Probably the hubs’ favorite food, I love the ease of pot roast. Or, I love how easy pot roast is supposed to be… we got a new slow-cooker for our wedding because my old, cheap one somehow managed to get way hotter than it was supposed to and everything ended up being over-cooked and dry. I’m still experimenting a bit with the settings on my new slow-cooker, but hopefully I’ll find a good go-to recipe this season 🙂 FYI, we have this one – my parents have the same kind by the same brand and it’s as old as I am and still working perfectly, which is why I chose it.

ELEVATED COGNAC women's boot - Steve Madden

Pink and Pepper Boots, Neon Demi Wedge Boots - These are so cute, but they're only 14 in. around the calf...

New Boots – I’m pretty hard on my boots, so I need at least two new pairs this year. These brown ones and these black ones are at the top of my list to try on. Finding boots is particularly hard for me because I want something nice that I can wear to work, but my calves are, shall we say, “athletic” (aka huge). I ordered and sent back about 5 pairs last year (let’s not even count all the pairs I tried on in stores…) and most of them won’t zip all the way up on me, so we’ll see if I have any better luck this year.

Organic Braided Matelasse Duvet Cover + Shams #westelm

Cozy Blankets – I love blankets for getting cozy by a fire and our soon-to-be house has a wood-burning fireplace, so you’d better believe I intend on using it many times this fall/winter, curling up with my hound dog and a good book. Since we’re getting the house and anticipate having lots of guests, I’ll probably pick up several more blankets in the next couple of months for the guest room and the living spaces. I’m also loving the duvet cover above from West Elm for our bedroom – it looks super cozy.

What about you, my lovely readers? What’s your favorite part of Fall?

Leave a Reply

