Beauty faves

Beauty faves

 

These items are what make up my everyday beauty routine (unless I’m staying home all day or working out, in which case I like to give my face a break.) I thought I’d share some of my favorites here and solicit recommendations – if there’s anything you can’t live without, let me know!

Up until the end of law school I wore light eyeshadow, mascara, and lip balm on a daily basis. Then I started experimenting, which I can firmly date to the week I got our wedding pictures back. Despite putting on way more makeup than I was used to, I still looked pale and washed out, whereas my sister and friend Addie looked awesome (they were both wearing considerably more – and darker – makeup and it photographed much better, while still not looking like gobs of makeup in person.) After some trial and error, many samples from Sephora, and many many additions to my makeup bag, I’ve finally found a look that is quick but looks better both in person and in photos than where I was before. This new look is what I have on in my “About Me” photo -although the lighting when I took that pic wasn’t great, so everything looks a bit more “glowy” than it does in person.

I have a good mix of drugstore/Target makeup along with some more expensive items from Sephora. I tried a few of Sephora’s mascaras that everyone raves about (ahem, Benefit’s They’re Real) but the Revlon Lash Potion is my favorite by far. I also had a really hard time finding a moisturizer that absorbed into my skin quickly and didn’t feel greasy, but this new Olay Fresh Effects stuff is the real deal! On the other hand, anyone who thinks that $23 is too much for lip balm has never tried the Sugar line. I got a mini size of both the clear color and the rose as a birthday treat from Sephora last year, and that was an awesome marketing ploy for them, when I ran out of the clear sample I went straight to the mall to pick up a full-size tube. I had no idea I’d get so attached to any balm other than Burt’s Bees! I’m really getting into the nude makeup trend too – Maybelline’s Lip Sensations in Nude Lust is the perfect nude-with-a-tinge-of-pink, as is Essie’s Spin the Bottle polish. Essie’s Mademoiselle is my go-to color for a light-pink everyday polish.

Burberry Summer is my favorite perfume ever, but unfortunately it’s a seasonal, which Burberry changes from year-to-year. I managed to snag a second bottle this Fall, but now it looks like it’s sold out everywhere. Some other perfumes with a similar profile that I like are Burberry Sheer, Marc Jacobs Dot (which I buy in the 1oz. size because then you get a classic clear bottle – once you remove the cap – instead of the hideous red ladybug design) and Clinique Happy.

There will be a few changes to this lineup soon. I’m shopping around for something that’s less orange-y on me than the Boscia BB cream shown above. So far the front-runner is Stila’s CC Cream in Tone, which I think would carry me nicely from spring on into my summer tan (I get a few shades darker during the summer, and then revert to pale-as-death as soon as I’m out of the sunshine 😦 ) Also, while I like my NARS palette (“The Happening” from spring 2013) the darker eyeshadow shades are a bit much for me, and I prefer the subtle sparkle from my e.l.f bronzer rather than the NARS Laguna bronzer, so I’m really only using it for the blush (Orgasm, of course!) and the lighter two eyeshadows. I’m thinking this Laura Mercier “Enlightenment” palette might be a nice alternative, but I haven’t made a very big dent in my NARS palette yet, so that’s more of a birthday/wish list item.

Lovely readers – what are your beauty must-haves? Do you have any makeup tricks for when you know people will be snapping photos?

One thought on “Beauty faves

  1. Pingback: Book Review! Throne of Glass Series | Barks and Baking

Leave a Reply

