Book Review! The Girls at the Kingfisher Club

The Girls at the Kingfisher Club is a brand-new book by Genevieve Valentine that became available on June 3rd. If you haven’t got a copy already, get yourself over to your book-purchasing location of choice and put this in your cart. You can thank me later πŸ™‚ This is the best book I’ve read so far this year, and it kind of snuck (sneaked?) up on me.

The Girls at the Kingfisher Club: A Novel

Full disclosure, I received a free copy of the book through NetGalley. The review I wrote for NetGalley and Goodreads is below, but I wanted to get a little more in depth about this book here on my blog. Honestly, I was expecting this book to be in my 3-start review category – a book that I enjoyed, but wouldn’t re-read, and something that I probably wouldn’t recommend to others. Oh, how happy I am to be wrong.

The plot was wonderful, fresh, and brilliantly executed. The skillful narration and pacing immediately sucked me in, and I finished the book within hours. I felt completely invested in the fate of the Hamilton sisters and was rooting for them, all the while knowing that things wouldn’t be easy. At the end, I knew that I had enjoyed the story, but it wasn’t until yesterday, when I sat down to write the review below, that I realized how thoroughly I had enjoyed the book. Β I planned on giving it 4 stars, but as I thought about how I could describe the book and the words I wanted to use in my review – and how to avoid spoiling the plot for anyone reading the review! – I was thinking to myself “No, it was way better than that, you’re just not describing it properly!” This really is one of my rare 5-star reviews. I was surprised by how much I was still feeling about the book days later, as only these images can describe:

And then sometimes you'll read a hundred books before you find one that's good enough to remember.

That moment when you finish a book look around and realize

Netgalley/Goodreads Review:

When I saw the description for this book and decided to give it a go, I was expecting a light, coming-of-age story set in the Jazz Age. While it certainly was a coming-of-age story, it was also so much more. I was both shocked and really pleased over the course of the last 2/3 of the book. I thought the ending was fabulous, but also stayed within the realm of believability. I found myself getting anxious each time Jo was called down to speak with her father and nervously excited whenever the girls were sneaking out the back door to go dancing.

The story has a lot to say about the complex relationships between sisters and families, but also about the unexpected variety that you get when people are allowed to make their own decisions and forge their own paths. I wish I could do the book better justice here, but the wonderful writing and the feelings that the author inspired in me as a reader are something that you’ll have to experience for yourself.

I will be recommending this book to many people, I’m sure!

 

Have you read The Girls at the Kingfisher Club, or another good book set in the Jazz Age/Roaring 20s? If you give it a go, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

