The A to Z Survey

AtoZsurvey

I thought it would be fun to give y’all a little more information about my reading habits, loves, and reading-related things I hate with a fiery passion. I’m discovering lots of cool lists like this from other book blogs, so expect more of these interspersed with my book reviews 🙂 This survey is originally from The Perpetual Page Turner, including the awesome graphic! If you give it a go, please link back to the original source!

Also, if you haven’t entered the Murder at the Brightwell giveaway yet, go on over there and enter to win yourself an awesome prize pack!

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Tamora Pierce. Followed closely by Lilian Jackson Braun and Rita Mae Brown.

*An easy way to figure this out if you have Goodreads is to go to your “My Books”page and on the left hand side there’s a link for “Most Read Authors.”

Best Sequel Ever:

Oooh, this is tough – I prefer books that are part of a trilogy/quartet/long series, so I don’t read too many true “sequels.” Hands down, the best was The Angel of Darkness by Caleb Carr. It’s just riveting. I wouldn’t have thought that Carr could top The Alienist, but he did!

Currently Reading:

An advance copy of Let Sleeping Dogs Lie by Rita Mae Brown. As mentioned above, I love Rita Mae Brown and I can’t believe that I got an early copy of this, but I’m super excited about it! (Special thanks to Ballantine Books/Random House and NetGalley!)

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Hazelnut Latte. Could be hot or iced, depending on the weather and where I am.

E-reader or Physical Book?

Physical books! Although I do love my Nook and the convenience of having both the Nook app and the Kindle app installed on my Android phone, books that I love or that I already have started collecting in hard copy I will still go buy in a bookstore. One of the biggest reasons I do this is that it’s so much easier to lend books out when people ask me for recommendations, and I love to support local business where I can (Politics & Prose in D.C. is basically the greatest bookstore ever.)

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

I’m still in love with Roiben from Tithe/Ironside by Holly Black. Don’t tell my husband 😉

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern

Hidden Gem Book:

The Rook, by Daniel O’Malley!!!

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

In middle school, our school building was right next to a branch of the public library. Since school got out way earlier than my mom got off work, every day after school I’d walk over to the library to do my homework and then read until my mom picked me up. I got through so many books in those years, and that period of time really shaped my reading preferences. During those years I read (among others) the Alanna, Immortals/Wild Mage, and Winding Circle series by Tamora Pierce, all of the Redwall books by Brian Jacques, Jane Eyre, The Count of Monte Cristo, Les Miserables, Crime & Punishment,  and Margaret George’s Memoirs of Cleopatra (I’m still not sure how I got away with checking this book out as an 8th grader, and my mother would have had a fit if she had read it first…but she didn’t 😉 ) By the time my younger sister was in middle school 2 years later, they’d constructed an entirely new middle school many blocks away from the old building, which was torn down. I’m still sad when I visit home and see the empty lot next to the library!

Just Finished:

Queen of Hearts, #8 in the Royal Spyness series by Rhys Bowen – It was hilarious, and I loved it.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Romance/Erotica, except for a few things by Sherrilyn Kenyon (The League series and the Dark-Hunter series) which are for some reason housed in the romance section of my local bookstores rather than fantasy/sci-fi, where I think they belong…)

Longest Book You’ve Read:

The Complete Sherlock Holmes (1,796 pages) – I have the 2-volume, soft-cover Barnes & Noble Classics version.

** An easy way to find this out if you’re on Goodreads is to go to your “Read” page, and at the top click on “settings” and make sure the appropriate box is checked so that the number of pages will be displayed. Once that is on the screen, you can click on it and it will sort your read books list from highest number of pages to lowest.

Major book hangover because of:

The Rook (are you tired of hearing me mention this book yet? Too bad!) The sequel, Stiletto, can’t come fast enough!

Number of Bookcases You Own:

6. The two biggest are full of my books:

My husband commandeered two of my older bookcases for his textbooks and medical books, one holds magazines, books, and miscellaneous things in my office, and one has been re-purposed as our liquor cabinet!

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Squire, book #3 of the Protector of the Small series by Tamora Pierce. Whenever I’m in a bad mood and I just want to read, this is what I reach for. Kel’s level head and ability to take things as they come always puts me in a better headspace and this book of the series in particular reminds me that we’re all capable of great things if we put in the (hard, mud-slogging) effort.

Preferred Place To Read:

In bed. I like to be cozy and warm.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

This isn’t inspirational, just a passage that’s always stuck with me from Holly Black’s Tithe. I love that this book was not your average fairy tale, and being a teenager growing up in the middle of nowhere in the Midwest, the whole story represented a drastically different lifestyle and viewpoint from anything I’d ever been exposed to. To me, this exchange manages to layer hints of beauty, love, anger, revenge, despair, and regret all at the same time – which is a lot for just 46 words.

(Looking at the sunset over the Atlantic Ocean)

Kaye: You know what the sun looks like?
Janet: No, What?
Kaye: Like he slit his wrists in a bathtub and the blood is all over the water.
Janet: That’s gross, Kaye.
Kaye: And the moon is just watching. She’s just watching him die. She must have driven him to it.

Reading Regret:

Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld. I bought the paperback of this as a summer read because it was on a “bestsellers” shelf and it looked like an interesting coming-of-age type read. I actively disliked the book (which is pretty rare for me) but more importantly I was so disappointed by it that for several years I stopped reading anything that I heard about from a bestseller list or that had “buzz” in the industry. Worst book hangover ever (slash most-like-a-real-life-hangover-which-isn’t-at-all-pleasant.) It took Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus to make me OK with checking out the bestseller shelves again.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

I just saw that there’s a new Bryant & May book out, Bryant & May & The Bleeding Heart, that I haven’t bought! Otherwise I’m pretty good about finishing a series once I’ve read past the first book, unless I just don’t like it – for example, I haven’t gone past book two of Kate Elliot’s Spiritwalker trilogy because I couldn’t even finish the second book (the first book was okay, so I bought the second one when the pickings for new titles were slim, but it was just too trite and overdone for my taste.) Those are pretty rare though.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone, Sabriel by Garth Nix (I have the original, dark cover of this with Sabriel on the front and I have to say I like that version much better!) The Rook by Daniel O’Malley.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Daniel O’Malley’s The Rook. I’m sure everyone reading this post is sick of hearing about it, but I don’t care! 🙂

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Stiletto, the sequel to The Rook. And Clariel by Garth Nix!!!

Worst Bookish Habit:

I love to read books by authors who use interesting/archaic words, and I sometimes forget that I’m in the real world and I’ll say something that makes people stare and then laugh at me. My husband frequently accuses me of making up words. Case in point, one day I told some co-workers that an item of clothing had “copious” wrinkles and they still give me a hard time about it. Because of this, several different people call me “Webster” and will text me if they’re searching for an appropriate word or need a definition, rather than consulting the internet.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini

Your latest book purchase:

Elizabeth, by Margaret George. I scored a new/unused hardcover for $6.95 and I’m very proud of myself!

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Born of Fury, by Sherrilyn Kenyon. I most definitely finished this book the day that it came out. Yup.

 

Was there anything that surprised you on this survey? Anything that made you say “Hey, me too!”?

One thought on “The A to Z Survey

  1. Pingback: The Struggle is Real – Sometimes I Have a Hard Time Finishing Books… | Barks and Baking

Leave a Reply

