Tag: The Book Blogger Test

I had a lot of fun with the A to Z Survey that I posted last week, so I’m excited to bring you something similar today. I first saw this tag on @Girl in the Pages and @Blogs of a Bookaholic – go check them out! – and it looked like tons of fun. I went down a bit of a WordPress rabbit-hole looking for the blog where this test originated, but I’m glad to say that I think I found it, so thanks to @Laura’s Book Reviews for dreaming this up!

Confession: No one tagged me to do this, and this isn’t strictly just a book blog, but since I do so many book reviews I thought it might be nice to give you all a little more info. about my reading habits 🙂

The Book Blogger Test:

Top three book pet hates?

1. Authors who jump on a bandwagon. When there is one really successful book that stands out and get a lot of press, there tend to be a lot of copycats, particularly in the YA genre. I’ve read so many books and seen so many variations on standard plots, and I can understand drawing inspiration from other authors, but you need to add something of your own to the mix!

2. People who don’t return books. Unlike a lot of people I know, I’m happy to lend my books out (and I even buy some books in paperback just so I can do that) but it’s really disappointing when I go to re-read something or suggest it to someone else and I can’t find it because it was never returned!

3. Unpronounceable character names. We all got over it with Hermoine because eventually the books explained it to us (in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, for those keeping score at home) but I find that it can really ruin the flow of a book when I constantly stumble over the characters’ names, especially if they’re a main character. This also goes for main characters with names that are just odd.

* Honorable mention in this category goes to people who interrupt me while I’m reading, especially if they’re looking to start a conversation (if they’re asking about the book, they get a pass.) My friends and family know I have a strict 3-strikes policy: if you interrupt me once or twice, I’ll be polite and pretend it didn’t happen, but if you interrupt me a third time or more, don’t expect a civil response 😉

Describe your perfect reading spot.

A big cozy chair in front of a wood-burning fireplace, with an ottoman and a soft blanket. And the Horrible Hound. And a hazelnut latte.

Tell us three book confessions.

1. I dislike the Game of Thrones series. (Yup, I know. Bad book blogger right here.) I read the first three books, which are like 600 pages each, so I certainly gave it a fair try, but I don’t like Martin’s writing style, and I get enough “realism” from having to take coursework in criminal law and my job as a lawyer, so I don’t like a lot of that in my reading.

2. I re-read books all the time. I can’t tell you how many time’s I’ve re-read the Harry Potter series, Garth Nix’s Old Kingdom books, and Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books. Whenever I want to read something to unwind, those are my go-tos, even if I have new books waiting to be read.

3. I’ve never read Ender’s Game or the Dune Chronicles, even though I love sci-fi and people have suggested/lent them to me several times…

When was the last time you cried at a book?

Probably the last time I re-read Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. The scene toward the end with Dumbledore always gets me, no matter how many times I read it.

How many books are on your bedside table?

Just one, Bertrand Russell’s History of Western Philosophy. I love it in general, and I think it’s a great relaxing read if I want to wind down before bed – unlike the mysteries or adventurous fantasy/sci-fi books I tend to go for 🙂

What is your favorite snack whilst you’re reading?

A hazelnut latte and/or whatever meal it’s time for. I eat way too fast if it’s just me and the food, so I read while I eat or try to eat with other people and have some conversation.

Name three books you’d recommend to everyone.

1. Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone

2. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

3. The Hobbit / Lord of the Rings

Show us a picture of your favorite bookshelf in your bookcase.

This may be a bit of a cheat, but my books are in 2 2×4 Ikea Expedits and each shelf doesn’t hold very many books, so this is my favorite “cube” of books 🙂

 
Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

Everything, at once.

* Wow, that was hard. Even 4 words would have been way easier!

What is your biggest reading secret?

I usually walk past anything that might be called a “romance,” and YA books that contort the plot to include a love-interest or – even worse – a love-triangle irritate me to no end, but I love Sherrilyn Kenyon’s League series and her Dark-Hunter series. Both of which are definitely in the romance section of the bookstore…

 

I “tag” anyone who hasn’t already done this test – I’m a huge snoop and I’d love to see your answers 🙂

Was there anything on this list that surprised you? What are your reading related pet-peeves?

2 thoughts on “Tag: The Book Blogger Test

  1. Thank you for the mention! I really enjoyed reading your answers to this tag. I especially love your 3 strikes and you’re out policy about people interrupting your reading, I need to try that one!

    I love your shelves as well, they’re so neat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

