Books of 2015

Hi friends! It’s been pretty silent over here because even though I’ve been reading plenty, I’m waaaaay behind on putting up reviews. I also haven’t baked anything for ages, other than holiday pies :-/ I got a lovely espresso machine for Christmas though, so now I’m back in an espresso-fueled burst of productivity.

You may notice a slight change in the blog layout as I’ve moved the Favorites and House Tour tabs under the About Me section, to make room for a tab on my review policies. I haven’t had many inquiries, but enough that I wanted to put something down in writing. I’ve also been working behind the scenes to set up an account on Edelweiss so I can keep better track of what’s coming up for 2016 and beyond – and there’s a ton! For those looking ahead, my next post will be all about what I’m excited to get my hands on this year.

I need to update the Horrible Hound tab too, because as those of you following along on Instagram will know, we added another 4-legged member to our family right before Thanksgiving! Our new addition, Rocket (aka Tiny Terror, aka Weasel, aka Skunky) is a little over a year old and full of energy – and he’s a chewer. So there’s plenty going on at the BarksandBaking house.

 

And now, for a long overdue recap of my 2015 reads!

Badge square

You read 54 out of 75 books
72%
Better luck in 2016!

I was clearly a little overambitious when I set my 2015 reading goal. According to my Goodreads stats, I read 76 books in 2014, so I though 75 would be do-able (especially since I’ve been getting so many advance copies!) but life got busy… I’m scaling back a bit and have set my 2016 goal for 55 books, and I’m already 6 books down, so hopefully I can knock the whole list out this year.

Img totalmediumr 2xImg totalmediuml 2x

54 books           17,399 pages

MY AVERAGE RATING FOR 2015: 3.4 stars
AVERAGE LENGTH: 355 pages
My favorite reads of 2015 (in no particular order):
The Bone Season & The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon
The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas
The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, by Gabrielle Zevin
To Hold the Bridge, by Garth Nix
A Murder of Mages, by Marshall Ryan Maresca
A History of Glitter and Blood, by Hannah Moscowitz

 

 My Daylight Monsters by Sarah DaltonSHORTEST BOOK
124 pages
My Daylight Monsters

by Sarah Dalton

Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

LONGEST BOOK

613 pages
Lair of Dreams

by Libba Bray
City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
MOST POPULAR
1,478,543 people also read
City of Bones
by Cassandra Clare
The Lost Souls Dating Agency by Suneeti Rekhari
LEAST POPULAR
29 people also read
The Lost Souls Dating Agency
by Suneeti Rekhari
Born of Betrayal by Sherrilyn Kenyon
HIGHEST RATED ON GOODREADS
Born of Betrayal
by Sherrilyn Kenyon
4.39 average

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

